Category: Authors

October 7th, 2018 by Melanie

I’ve just finished editing the brilliant tenth novel in the DI Miller series, which is now available.

What should have been a routine murder investigation, turns into a deadly nightmare…

DI Frank Miller and some of his team are called in by the CID from the Borders when the body of a woman is found crucified in a graveyard.

A troupe of actors arrive in the town to put on a play, celebrating the Centennial of the birth of famous poet and playwright, Hugh Abernethy.

Abernethy was also an agent with the SOE, until he went missing 

during the second World War.

Now, the plane Abernethy was traveling in has been found after a glacier in Iceland gave up its hold on the five-man crew.

The discovery raises more questions than answers; Where was the plane heading? Why was it so far off course? And where are the top-secret documents he had in his possession at the time?

As the festivities clash with the murder investigation, one of the deadliest snow storms to ever hit the UK envelops the small town, trapping everybody inside with a killer.
Cut off from the rest of civilisation, Miller and his team know they must track down a vicious murderer, who seems to know the real reason why Abernethy was on that plane, and will stop anybody else from finding out.

For some, the drama is real and the stage is set for murder…

Cut Throat – Amazon

 

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,

October 1st, 2018 by Melanie

Editing completed, The Stone Girl, second in the new Harder They Fall series is now available.  Another page turner by Solomon Carter.

Dan and Eva take an unlikely looking case  – and end up always one step behind the truth.

Is their old friend pulling a fast one?

Probably. And what about the young woman with the mysterious pendant around her neck?

Some gems are too precious to be ignored.

And some are too deadly to touch.

When the Private Investigators discover the true value of the grey stone, all becomes clear. It means big trouble all round.

But what can they do about it? Whichever route they choose spells trouble.

Meanwhile, another of Dan’s old boxing friends is in dire trouble. And another refused to see the truth. His arrogance could be his undoing… Unless the man called Cato kills him first…

Cads, cut throats, psychopaths, liars and mysterious femme fatales… In The Stone Girl, Eva and Dan must overcome them all.

And even if they do, the nightmare won’t end there…

In a truly thrilling conclusion, villains of all stripes plot the downfall of their foes. To the victor the spoils. But the losers might face their death.

The Stone Girl – Amazon

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

September 28th, 2018 by Melanie

Released FREE today, the first in the new series – Harder They Fall.

ONE COLD DARK MORNING PI DAN BRADLEY GOES FOR A RUN.  HE SEES A SUSPICIOUS SET OF HEADLIGHTS SWITCH OFF IN THE DISTANCE … MOMENTS LATER HIS LIFE IS CHANGED FOREVER.

After a critical incident, Private Investigators Eva Roberts and Dan Bradley are left to pick up the pieces. They never give up. But this new challenge seems insurmountable – and with every passing moment the darkness closes in.

While his body heals Dan must track down a ruthless killer. Trouble is, these scars won’t heal quickly… and Dan’s new nemesis may strike at any time.

Dan’s partner, the serious and beautiful Eva Roberts, persuades Dan to take a working break away to the South West. They investigate a mysterious death in picturesque Devon – but this getaway turns out to be anything but relaxing.

And as they work the Devon case fate intervenes… and the nightmare Dan cannot avoid tracks him down.

There are more victims.

Some are in denial – some too scared to face the truth.

But Dan has no choice. He must face his demons – or die trying.

And the Devon case which started out as a novelty becomes a deadly crisis. A  blogger is dead… and her housemates may be next. And there could yet be international consequences…

In a truly thrilling conclusion an unsolved murder is brought back to life and a killer is exposed. But the monster behind the vendetta will soon strike again… 

Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Helen Durrant, Joy Ellis and LJ Ross. If you love to read gripping thrillers with flawed characters, humour and a hint of romance, you will love Roberts and Bradley in Harder They Fall.

 

Harder They Fall – Amazon

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,

September 21st, 2018 by Melanie

Dan & Sean Campbell

We’d like to say a huge thank you to Melanie Underwood Editor for helping to eliminate a number of very pesky lingering errors in the series. The eBooks are now updated and more polished than ever before. If you’re looking for a British English editor who is exceeding fast, extremely competent and competitively priced then send her a message.

Posted in Authors, Testimonials

September 18th, 2018 by Melanie

I’m really enjoying working on the debut novel by S N Pearse, a detective story set in the beautiful North Yorkshire seaside town of Whitby, which should be available in the next few weeks.

 

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,