February 21st, 2019 by Melanie

For the second time in recent months, I’ve received four manuscripts in the space of one week – one scheduled, one anticipated, and two completely out of the blue!  A fifth manuscript is due to reach me on 3rd March.

I love being busy and have had a thoroughly enjoyable night working on Moira Lisa Smile, the second in the charming Guesthouse on the Green series by Michelle Vernal. The first in the series, O’Mara’s was completed earlier this week.

 

 

Next up is the first novel in the second series featuring DI Hogarth, by Solomon Carter.  DI Hogarth featured as the protagonist in The Darkest series published in spring 2018 after first appearing in the Eva and Dan Private Investigator novels.

 

 

Green Door by Tony Harmsworth is scheduled for next week and will provide an interesting change of genre for me as it’s a couple of years since I had any sci-fi novels to edit.

 

That should take care of February, and the latest in John Carson’s great DI Frank Miller series, Time of Death, will be with me in early March, ready for publication on 14th. 

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

January 6th, 2019 by Melanie

The final book in the series, published in April 2018, brings to a close this first series by Solomon Carter featuring DI Hogarth.  Hopefully, he will be appearing in many more series in the future.

The stunning crime finale with an epic conclusion!

DETECTIVE INSPECTOR JOE HOGARTH IS A MAN ON THE EDGE. HIS PRIVATE TROUBLES HAVE EXPLODED OUT OF CONTROL THE DI MUST STOP HIS SECRET CRISIS FROM BECOMING A CATASTROPHE.  BUT CRIME DOESN’T STOP FOR ANYONE. AND WHEN A REFORMED VILLAIN BECOMES THE VICTIM OF A HIT-AND-RUN, A NEW CASE OPENS. A CASE WHICH THREATENS TO BE THE END OF DI HOGARTH – IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE…

Local scallywag Benny Spencer is mown down in a seemingly random accident. Witness PCSO Bec Rawlins asks for Hogarth’s help but DI Hogarth is in no fit state for police work. The strung-out DI is distracted by a secret crisis he must deal with alone. Even so, Hogarth must work the new case or fail his superiors, his team, and his conscience. But stretched to the limit, Hogarth makes bad choices and mistakes – the kind  which could cost a copper his job – and may yet cost him his life

The Darkest Truth: One day in the life of DI Hogarth. One day which will make him or break him forever.

Hogarth can’t let go his secret mission. But the sea front hit-and-run won’t go away.

And as the bad choices pile up, a seemingly straightforward case becomes a nightmare all of its own.

And when two nightmares collide, Hogarth’s trouble reaches a critical mass.

Something bad is bound to happen. But the question is, to who?

DI Hogarth breaks all the rules in the book. He forges unholy alliances and takes risks he will live to regret. Saints and sinners, liars and looters form the most temporary of allegiances. And underneath the surface, it’s every man for himself.

In the epic conclusion of the Darkest series, with DCI Melford on the prowl, DI Hogarth must reap what he has sown. Hogarth may go down, and if he does, he’ll go down fighting…

The Darkest Truth – Solomon Carter

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,

January 6th, 2019 by Melanie

The third in the gripping new series featuring DI Hogarth, this was edited and published in April 2018.

DI HOGARTH AND THE TEAM ARE CALLED IN TO INVESTIGATE THE MYSTERIOUS DEATH OF AGEING SOFT PORN STAR, AIMEE GILLEN. GILLEN’S PROLIFIC DRUG USE SUGGESTS AN EASY CASE – A SIMPLE OVERDOSE OR ACCIDENTAL DEATH – BUT HOGARTH HAS SERIOUS MISGIVINGS. IS THE DI THINKING STRAIGHT? OR HAS HOGARTH’S PRIVATE CRISIS FINALLY TAKEN ITS TOLL?

DC Simmons is back as the team are called to investigate a mysterious death at Harry King Studios. Soft porn actress Aimee Gillen was an unpopular figure at the studio, lonely and on her way out. Studio staff suggest Gillen had many reasons for choosing suicide – but Hogarth sees just as many clues point to murder. Why did Aimee Gillen abandon a line of cocaine just before she died? What caused the cracked tile outside the fatal sauna? And who were the mysterious friends Gillen wanted to help?  Palmer and Simmons sense DI Hogarth is at risk of turning an easy case into quagmire. And the town’s VIPs soon turn against him. 

In the hunt for justice Hogarth ruffles the feathers of the Police and Crime Commissioner. Politics and naked ambition get in the way of a clean investigation. There must be consequences. And as the trouble builds, Hogarth cannot find the evidence he needs. His credibility is soon called into question.

The Darkest Deed – Solomon Carter

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , ,

December 10th, 2018 by Melanie

A lovely testimonial from Solomon Carter:

Melanie has edited at least 20 of my books. In that time her services have proven to be professional, reliable and cost effective. She is approachable throughout a project and she is consistent in her work. Melanie also offers helpful insights to ensure your books reach the reader in the best shape possible. Her work often picks up on any technical and plotting issues which is vital to ensuring a smooth and enjoyable experience for the reader. Highly recommended.

 

Solomon Carter

Posted in Authors, Portfolio, Testimonials Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

February 1st, 2018 by Melanie

The Darkest Grave – Solomon Carter

DI HOGARTH’S JUDGMENT IS CALLED INTO QUESTION WHEN A LOCAL FARMER IS BRUTALLY MURDERED. MOTIVE IS EVERYWHERE HE LOOKS, BUT DI HOGARTH MUST DISCOVER THE TRUTH BEFORE A VICIOUS KILLER CAN CLAIM THE BLOOD-STAINED LAND.

DI Hogarth and DS Sue Palmer are called to a murder on the outskirts of town. Farmer Nigel Grave has been killed in brutal fashion at the start a family get-together. The old man was due to make a declaration about the future of his farm, but his grand plans appear to have died with him. Why was the farmer killed? Hogarth finds a farmhouse full of suspects. The farmer’s wife is a drunken harridan with a sordid past. The son has ambitions of his own. The interfering Goodwells simply won’t back off, and a sharp-edged beauty has designs all of her own.  DI Hogarth is sickened by the greed on display. As the crime scene manager picks over the murder, Hogarth spots a clue. Just what are the mysterious black grains beneath the blood-spattered hay? And what was the old man’s grand plan?

Secrets and lies return from the past.  Foreign workers are soon in the frame. And Hogarth’s killer hides among the sinister faces ranged all around.

But that’s not all Hogarth has to deal with – A stalker lurks in the shadows, ready to destroy the woman he loves.

Sickening Greed. Lust past and present. A cop under pressure… and the murderer who killed an old man’s dream may yet strike again.

In an epic conclusion, DI Hogarth must make a gamble. Lose and a killer goes free plus the DI loses all authority. Win and a killer will be flushed from his hiding place – but at what price?

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, and Ruth Rendell. If you love to read gripping detective thrillers with flawed lead characters or police procedurals with shocking twists and a noir flavour, then the DI Hogarth Darkest series is for you.

Readers have described the Darkest series as a best fit for fans of British crime thrillers, Female detective novels, British crime mysteries, Police Procedurals, Heist thrillers, and Noir Thrillers.

A detective murder mystery packed with danger and thrills – The Darkest Grave is a crime novel you won’t want to put down.

Setting:

Southend-on-sea: Just over an hour from London. A tough, densely packed suburban town. A place where wealth and glamour sits cheek-by-jowl with addiction, poverty, and crime. Sandwiched between the sparkling Thames Estuary and a semi-rural hinterland. Ex-Met Detective Joe Hogarth could have imagined he was signing up for sun, sea, and semi-retirement when he transferred to the Essex coast. But it seems the merry hell of Southend might just have him beat. It’s a good thing this DI doesn’t know when to quit…

The Darkest Grave – Amazon

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,