February 21st, 2019 by Melanie

For the second time in recent months, I’ve received four manuscripts in the space of one week – one scheduled, one anticipated, and two completely out of the blue!  A fifth manuscript is due to reach me on 3rd March.

I love being busy and have had a thoroughly enjoyable night working on Moira Lisa Smile, the second in the charming Guesthouse on the Green series by Michelle Vernal. The first in the series, O’Mara’s was completed earlier this week.

 

 

Next up is the first novel in the second series featuring DI Hogarth, by Solomon Carter.  DI Hogarth featured as the protagonist in The Darkest series published in spring 2018 after first appearing in the Eva and Dan Private Investigator novels.

 

 

Green Door by Tony Harmsworth is scheduled for next week and will provide an interesting change of genre for me as it’s a couple of years since I had any sci-fi novels to edit.

 

That should take care of February, and the latest in John Carson’s great DI Frank Miller series, Time of Death, will be with me in early March, ready for publication on 14th. 

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

January 25th, 2019 by Melanie

The Last Line conspiracy thriller series was edited and published between January and April 2016.

Betrayed and left for dead, elite ex-MI6 agent Jenna witnessed her sister’s brutal murder… Now she must set her past aside to stop a conspiracy from destroying the nation…

Fans of Russell Blake’s Jet series, LT Ryan, Mark Dawson, Stephen Konkoly and Alan McDermott will love Jenna and The Company’s adventures in this epic series. 

“Unputdownable… The best yet from Carter…” 

Solomon Carter is the author of the much loved Long Time Dying thriller series. If you love action thrillers, with strong female protagonists, you’ll love The Last Line. 

The Company is the nation’s last line of defence, Built around a ramshackle team of dissidents, deserters and has-beens, the clandestine operation is nowhere near ready. But ready or not they must fight, as a deadly enemy aims to bring the West to it’s knees. 

A high-speed, roller coast ride, with action, tension, twists and turns, The Last Line sees Jenna Royal and Eva Roberts living on the edge – and the free world on the brink of disaster. 

The Last Line – Solomon Carter

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , ,

January 24th, 2019 by Melanie

The final novel in this thirteen-book series was one of the earliest editing jobs I did for Solomon Carter back in December 2015!

Smoke rises on the horizon.

Dan Bradley and Eva Roberts arrive back in their home town after a chaotic case to discover their office has been burned to the ground. Physically exhausted and living under the shadow of their enemy, they must now track down the arsonist who has destroyed their base of operations. Dan has his suspicions. On the brink of collapse, Eva finds the bottle has never been more appealing.

Dan sets out to prove that the main suspects are innocent while Eva goes it alone to search for evidence to convict their nemesis. But when Dan is suddenly removed from the picture, Eva’s fate seems sealed… and Rowntree gets ever closer to realising his deepest, darkest desire. 

The game is rigged… The rules are changing… and eyes watch from the shadows. 
LTD13 Lucky for Some – Could it finally be checkmate for Eva Roberts?

One thing is certain -, private detectives Roberts and Bradley will need a damn sight more than luck to survive this final battle…

Lucky for Some – Solomon Carter

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , ,

January 24th, 2019 by Melanie

The Black & Gold series is full of action and difficult, if not impossible, to put down.

Books one to seven in the series were published before I started working with Solomon, although I’ve since re-edited the entire series, and book nine, the finale, is on the way soon!

It’s time for a new type of hero…and a new kind of justice. Meet Simon, the Man in the Mask, the dark star of a thrilling new short read series… BLACK & GOLD

In a ghetto occupied by a ruthlessly violent youth gang, one man is ready to stand up for the silent majority, ready to do whatever it takes to claim back the night. One man… One mask… with enough righteous anger to bring the world crashing down upon their heads.

This man has no superpowers. He doesn’t wear a cape. He lives in a bruised and battered world just like the one outside your window. He has watched his hometown fall into the clutches of deadly crime and corruption. And he can stand no more. Tonight, the evil young gang making the headlines are about to face their judgement

But the vigilante is not alone. Discovering that the troublesome young blonde has followed him into deadly danger, the man in the mask has a dilemma. Can he survive the onslaught while fighting her another’s life?

BLACK & GOLD is the first instalment of the Black & Gold short read series – an epic Vigilante Justice Action and Crime Thriller Adventure. It’s fast paced and action packed to the very end!

Each book is a fast-paced short read designed to be read in one thrilling sitting.

Black & Gold Box Set – Solomon Carter

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , ,

January 6th, 2019 by Melanie

Another story comes to an end in the gripping finale to The Final Trick series, edited and published in October 2017.

Drug dealers belonging to Alex Galvan’s organised crime syndicate are murdered on the street.

A mark like a boxing glove is left on a nearby wall, daubed in blood.

Eva Roberts becomes a target, and this time her luck might just have run out.

Dan Bradley will stop at nothing until he gets his revenge. But an infuriating stranger gets in his way.

The writing is on the wall. A bloody gang war is coming… but just who is pulling the strings?

Killers and Kings converge in a fight to the finish. A fight to the death… and the town heads toward all-out war. 

Killers and Kings – Solomon Carter

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,