Category: Portfolio

September 18th, 2018 by Melanie

I’m really enjoying working on the debut novel by S N Pearse, a detective story set in the beautiful North Yorkshire seaside town of Whitby, which should be available in the next few weeks.

 

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,

August 25th, 2018 by Melanie

Double Blind – Sean Campbell

“When a murder is committed on the grounds of a cult’s premises, and Morton’s estranged son becomes the prime suspect, the choice is simple: sit back and let another detective work to imprison his son, or work outside the rules to clear the family name.

As if he had any choice.

Double Blind is a standalone crime novel set in DCI Morton’s London. Jump right in with this seventh instalment, or try one of the earlier books first: every story is self-contained.”

 

Double Blind – Amazon

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , ,

May 6th, 2018 by Melanie

Final Steps – John Carson

A jailed U.S. Army Ranger…

A disgraced Royal Marines Commando…

And a female assassin who will bring their worlds crashing together…

Max Doyle was found guilty of killing his superior officer in Afghanistan. He was given a life sentence and put in Leavenworth military prison.

Nathan Kane was imprisoned for executing a contractor in the hills of Afghanistan. Stripped of his rank and given a dishonorable discharge, he was sentenced to ten years in an English prison.

Kane is approached by an official from the British government with a job offer. Broke, divorced and with no prospects, he considers the offer: find an elusive British assassin known as Rose Arcana.
It should be a simple job, Kane thinks. But nothing in life is simple…

On the other side of the world, Max Doyle has been told that his wife and daughter were murdered in their home. He is escorted out of prison to attend their funerals. After landing at the air base, he is approached by a woman he has never seen before.
She talks to him and he notices that his MP detail have gone.
She makes him a job offer. He’ll be released on license in exchange for him coming to work for a covert department called the Phoenix Group. The first job he will be employed to do is hunt down a British assassin, a female known as Rose Arcana.

Joining forces with Kane, Doyle begins the hunt, but there is more to the job offer than either man was told. It appears Rose is working with a team of assassins who will stop at nothing to keep their secret safe.

Something is wrong, and they quickly discover that things aren’t as they first seemed. And somebody wants to make sure that neither man survives the conflict. But Doyle and Kane survived the worst in the killing fields of Afghanistan and they’re more than ready to take on an enemy on American soil…

** This edition contains editorial revisions **

Final Steps – Amazon

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , ,

February 1st, 2018 by Melanie

The Darkest Grave – Solomon Carter

DI HOGARTH’S JUDGMENT IS CALLED INTO QUESTION WHEN A LOCAL FARMER IS BRUTALLY MURDERED. MOTIVE IS EVERYWHERE HE LOOKS, BUT DI HOGARTH MUST DISCOVER THE TRUTH BEFORE A VICIOUS KILLER CAN CLAIM THE BLOOD-STAINED LAND.

DI Hogarth and DS Sue Palmer are called to a murder on the outskirts of town. Farmer Nigel Grave has been killed in brutal fashion at the start a family get-together. The old man was due to make a declaration about the future of his farm, but his grand plans appear to have died with him. Why was the farmer killed? Hogarth finds a farmhouse full of suspects. The farmer’s wife is a drunken harridan with a sordid past. The son has ambitions of his own. The interfering Goodwells simply won’t back off, and a sharp-edged beauty has designs all of her own.  DI Hogarth is sickened by the greed on display. As the crime scene manager picks over the murder, Hogarth spots a clue. Just what are the mysterious black grains beneath the blood-spattered hay? And what was the old man’s grand plan?

Secrets and lies return from the past.  Foreign workers are soon in the frame. And Hogarth’s killer hides among the sinister faces ranged all around.

But that’s not all Hogarth has to deal with – A stalker lurks in the shadows, ready to destroy the woman he loves.

Sickening Greed. Lust past and present. A cop under pressure… and the murderer who killed an old man’s dream may yet strike again.

In an epic conclusion, DI Hogarth must make a gamble. Lose and a killer goes free plus the DI loses all authority. Win and a killer will be flushed from his hiding place – but at what price?

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, and Ruth Rendell. If you love to read gripping detective thrillers with flawed lead characters or police procedurals with shocking twists and a noir flavour, then the DI Hogarth Darkest series is for you.

Readers have described the Darkest series as a best fit for fans of British crime thrillers, Female detective novels, British crime mysteries, Police Procedurals, Heist thrillers, and Noir Thrillers.

A detective murder mystery packed with danger and thrills – The Darkest Grave is a crime novel you won’t want to put down.

Setting:

Southend-on-sea: Just over an hour from London. A tough, densely packed suburban town. A place where wealth and glamour sits cheek-by-jowl with addiction, poverty, and crime. Sandwiched between the sparkling Thames Estuary and a semi-rural hinterland. Ex-Met Detective Joe Hogarth could have imagined he was signing up for sun, sea, and semi-retirement when he transferred to the Essex coast. But it seems the merry hell of Southend might just have him beat. It’s a good thing this DI doesn’t know when to quit…

The Darkest Grave – Amazon

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,

January 22nd, 2018 by Melanie

The Darkest Lies – Solomon Carter

DETECTIVE JOE HOGARTH IS CALLED TO A MURDER AT A SEASIDE NIGHTCLUB. HE SOON UNCOVERS A SINISTER SECRET… BUT HOGARTH HAS A SECRET OF HIS OWN – AND THE PRESSURE IS STARTING TO SHOW…

No one saw the killer strike, but a young man was seen

leaving the club moments before the attack. The young man has no clear motive but Hogarth can’t let go of his suspicions. He decides to track down the youth… and discovers the motive for murder is far older and far darker than he imagined.

A dead man reappears as the darkest lies of two generations are exposed. One cop takes justice into her hands but another may pay the ultimate price.

In a truly thrilling conclusion, DI Hogarth and his team race against time to stop a killer who watches their every move. And all while, DI Hogarth’s secret threatens to explode.

Secret Affairs. Betrayal. Murder. And The Darkest Lies…

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, and Ruth Rendell, Helen Durrant, Joy Ellis, and LJ Ross. If you love to read gripping detective thrillers with flawed characters and police procedurals with shocking twists and a noir flavour, then the DI Hogarth Darkest series is for you.

Readers have described the Darkest series as perfect for fans of British crime thrillers, Female detective novels, British crime mysteries, Police Procedurals, Heist thrillers, and Noir Thrillers.

The Setting:

Southend-on-sea, Just over an hour from London. A tough and densely packed suburban town sandwiched between the sparkling Thames Estuary and a semi-rural hinterland of fields and marshes. A place where wealth and glamour sit cheek-by-jowl with addiction, poverty, and crime. When he transferred to the Essex coast, ex-Met Detective Joe Hogarth might have imagined he was signing up for sun, sea, and semi-retirement. But the merry hell of Southend might just have him beat. It’s a good thing this DI doesn’t know when to quit…

The Darkest Lies – Amazon

 

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,