Category: Authors

October 12th, 2019 by Melanie3101

The latest book by Tony Harmsworth, the brilliant science fiction writer, is now available for pre-order.  For anyone who thinks sci-fi is not for them, Tony’s novels may well change your mind.

Federation & Earth – is book two in the Federation Trilogy. It is coming soon. Publication date is 2nd November. To secure your copy, pre-order now. Reading Federation first is absolutely essential.

After the dramatic and unexpected turn of events at the end of the first book, Earth is left with several factions trying to resolve the situation. The new president of the USA is trying to secure his hold on power, while a new group who have named themselves FREE AMERICA, is trying to overthrow what it considers an illegitimate regime.

Elsewhere, the new Secretary General of the United Nations is working with the smaller Security Coucil to try to bring the rest of the world together after the events at the end of the book one. Can the aliens be convinced to provide help or are they just going to watch from orbit?

Take a care. You won’t enjoy this story unless you are open to political concepts which could never work on Earth as it is before the trilogy begins i.e. now. If you like speculative fiction, open your mind and enjoy the adventure. This book is like Marmite [look it up], you will either love it or hate it!


Federation and Earth – Amazon UK

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , ,

October 7th, 2019 by Melanie3101

A much, much quieter month for me (only 315,000 words) due to many interruptions—a foot operation, a joiner and decorator working on a new porch, and an overseas trip which included a swollen hand from an insect bite!—but I still completed the edits on six, mostly shorter novels.

The first novel was working with an author new to me and was an intriguing drama about personal relationships set in Scotland—details to follow when available.

The sixth in the sci-fi series by Saffron Bryant followed, and then there was a lovely, quirky private eye, mystery novel set in Thailand.

Books seven and eight in the Starship Renegades series were next, with the introductory novella to a new sci-fi series the last completed work to finish the month—again details to follow on publication—before making a start on a historical murder mystery.

My companion for the start of the month was the delightful Dolly, one of my regular visitors.


Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , ,

September 16th, 2019 by Melanie3101

Edited in May, the first novel in the trilogy by new author, Gail P Griffiths is available for pre-order now.

Joe and Harriet know where they’re going in life. They have it planned; finish university and then get married. But Luke, a classmate who wants Harriet, has other plans. Those plans lead to a chase through the woods that ends in an adventure into the future. Along the way, the couple make some strange friends, some of whom they’re not sure they can trust. They’re forced to make choices between their freedom and the salvation of future generations. Do they run or stay? Do they have any choice? And if they get back, can they live with what’s ahead?


Remember the Future – Amazon US

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , ,

August 27th, 2019 by Melanie3101

As a new author I was nervous about choosing an editor. I had read reviews and social media posts from authors whose experience of editors was disappointing and approached Melanie after consulting one of her other clients. I felt early on that I had made the right choice.

I have found Melanie very approachable and she has been able to provide prompt answers to my, often trivial queries. She has provided helpful feedback and corrected my stupid grammar and spelling mistakes.

I feel that by following her advice my writing has improved and I now feel more confident about sending it out into the world knowing that it has received an efficient and thorough going over.

I really appreciate her very reasonable fee and the fact that she turns the work around quickly.


Hilary Pugh

Posted in Authors Tagged with: , ,

August 26th, 2019 by Melanie3101

A gripping first novel in the new DCI Harry McNeil series by John CarsonSticks and Stones is available for pre-order now and will be published on 31st August.

From the author of the DI Frank Miller Scottish Crime series comes the first in a spin-off series.

Fifteen years ago, a man brutally murdered his wife, before taking his own life.

Now, DCI Harry McNeil is heading up a Major Investigation Team and he is called to a small town in the Scottish Highlands. A bride has gone missing from the hotel on her wedding night, and despite a search, there is no sign of her…

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , ,