February 21st, 2019 by Melanie

For the second time in recent months, I’ve received four manuscripts in the space of one week – one scheduled, one anticipated, and two completely out of the blue!  A fifth manuscript is due to reach me on 3rd March.

I love being busy and have had a thoroughly enjoyable night working on Moira Lisa Smile, the second in the charming Guesthouse on the Green series by Michelle Vernal. The first in the series, O’Mara’s was completed earlier this week.

 

 

Next up is the first novel in the second series featuring DI Hogarth, by Solomon Carter.  DI Hogarth featured as the protagonist in The Darkest series published in spring 2018 after first appearing in the Eva and Dan Private Investigator novels.

 

 

Green Door by Tony Harmsworth is scheduled for next week and will provide an interesting change of genre for me as it’s a couple of years since I had any sci-fi novels to edit.

 

That should take care of February, and the latest in John Carson’s great DI Frank Miller series, Time of Death, will be with me in early March, ready for publication on 14th. 

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

February 20th, 2019 by Melanie

A lovely gentle romance set in Ireland, this was a wonderful change of pace and genre for me to edit.  Book two in the series, Moira Lisa Smile, is underway and will be published shortly.

Take a break you’ll never forget at O’Mara’s Manor House—the Georgian guesthouse in the heart of Dublin’s Fair City. Its cosy and elegant setting is where you’ll fall in love with a cast of characters who’ll stay with you long after you finish the book. Oh, and a full Irish breakfast is included. If Aisling O’Mara hadn’t winged her way home to the Emerald Isle to take over the running of the family guesthouse she’d never have met Marcus, and her heart wouldn’t have been broken. She’s been trying to put her life back together since he left, but now he’s back and says he’s sorry. Can she trust him again? Una Brennan’s booked into the guesthouse she used to walk past each morning when she was a girl full of hopes and dreams for her happy ever after. She left Dublin more than fifty years ago vowing she’d never set foot in the city again. Why did she leave and what’s brought her back? Meanwhile, the little red fox who raids the bins outside O’Mara’s basement kitchen door at night would like to know why the woman in Room 1, cries herself to sleep each night. Witty, sad, and insightful with a touch of romance. Come and stay at O’Mara’s.

 

O’Mara’s – Amazon

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , , , ,

February 12th, 2019 by Melanie

A great explanation from Simon Cann on the benefits of working with an editor.  A superb commentary on how my role as an editor can help an author.

Working with an Editor – Simon Cann

Posted in Miscellaneous Tagged with: , , , , ,

January 26th, 2019 by Melanie

A wonderful opportunity for me to edit this volume of poetry, a change of genre that I thoroughly enjoyed and which provided new and interesting challenges.

Poetry has always provided a thoughtful view of our life and the society we create.

Author A.T.Melville offers a second volume of sixty short poems that give a thought-provoking insight into the challenges and problems of our modern society and personal lives.

Thought Molecules: Poems for the Brave New World (Volume Two) – A.T. Melville

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , ,

January 25th, 2019 by Melanie

The Last Line conspiracy thriller series was edited and published between January and April 2016.

Betrayed and left for dead, elite ex-MI6 agent Jenna witnessed her sister’s brutal murder… Now she must set her past aside to stop a conspiracy from destroying the nation…

Fans of Russell Blake’s Jet series, LT Ryan, Mark Dawson, Stephen Konkoly and Alan McDermott will love Jenna and The Company’s adventures in this epic series. 

“Unputdownable… The best yet from Carter…” 

Solomon Carter is the author of the much loved Long Time Dying thriller series. If you love action thrillers, with strong female protagonists, you’ll love The Last Line. 

The Company is the nation’s last line of defence, Built around a ramshackle team of dissidents, deserters and has-beens, the clandestine operation is nowhere near ready. But ready or not they must fight, as a deadly enemy aims to bring the West to it’s knees. 

A high-speed, roller coast ride, with action, tension, twists and turns, The Last Line sees Jenna Royal and Eva Roberts living on the edge – and the free world on the brink of disaster. 

The Last Line – Solomon Carter

Posted in Authors, Portfolio Tagged with: , , , ,